The Columbus Museum of Art main building - originally built in 1931 - was renovated to provide library and resource center functions, education and meeting room/seminar spaces on the ground floor, and galleries for the pernament collection on the main floor. All renovations - totaling $6.9 million and 53,000-SF - were implemented with respect to the historical integrity of the entire building.
Karpinski Engineering was responsible for the mechanical, electrical, lighting and technology design, as well as producing a generator study, gallery power, CCTV, access control and intrusion detection/theft prevention systems.
Completed in 2010, the renovation included new MEP systems for Derby Hall - an enclosed courtyard space - as well as adding 100 seats to an existing 200-seat auditorium. The sunken floor was raised to gallery level, and the roof was replaced with a vaulted ceiling made mostly of glass.
Karpinski Engineering designed new sound systems, theatrical lighting and new power distribution, and emergency generators were installed to support the infrastructure. A unique challenge included the close temperature and humidity control design for priceless artwork displayed through the building.